Birthday Parties

About the Band

The Brownfield-Byrne Quintet was conceived in 2009 by trumpeter, Jamie Brownfield and saxophonist, Liam Byrne, both of whom are based in rural North Wales. Embracing the trumpet and tenor tradition of 1950’s bebop, the group’s repertoire has expanded considerably over the past few years to incorporate much earlier forms of jazz, reflecting the ever-expanding influences that inform it’s style. By placing an emphasis on a high standard of musicianship and a challenging repertoire, and staying true to their original jazz influences, these five musicians succeed in achieving a broad appeal with young and old alike, breaking down the boundaries that traditionally exist between the respective jazz genres. Equally at home playing to late night revellers in a city centre jazz club, or performing to aficionados at an old-style traditional jazz festival, the quintet’s sound is characterised by the vibrancy of its front line horn section over a driving rhythm section consisting of guitar, double bass and drums. Combining a 21st sensibility with a passion for earlier styles of jazz has given the band a unique sound and identity which has earned them a growing reputation in the UK as torch bearers of the jazz tradition.’

Sample Set List

  • Better Go
  • Diana Lee
  • Split Kick
  • Donna Lee
  • Dizzy Atmosphere
  • Quicksilver
  • Cherokee
  • How High The Moon
  • Out Of Nowhere
  • Tangerine
  • Tea For Two
  • Blue N’ Boogie
  • Sharacks Corner
  • Bounce Of The Sugarplum Fairy
  • Joao
  • Summertime
  • Just Friends
  • Dig
  • Blue Daniel
  • Half Nelson
  • Autumn Leaves
  • Softly In A Morning Sunrise
  • Casbah